I’ve decided to wait until May 10th to start the 30 day writing challenge that I posted on Monday. I will be out of town this coming weekend, and the following week will be finals week, so I figure it would be best to start with summer.

 

On to today’s post: The Bucket List.

Many of you may be familiar with the TV show, The Buried Life.

the-crew (1)

Basically, Ben Nemtin, Jonnie Penn, Duncan Penn and Dave Lingwood go around the world marking items of their bucket list, while helping others cross items off their bucket lists as well.

These guys have crossed off some major bucket list items over the course of their project:

#89: Play ball with the President.
#59: Ask out the girl of your dreams. (In this case, it was Taylor Swift.)
#124: Be on Oprah.
#91: Get married in Vegas.
#25: Capture a fugitive.

Ok, so back to reality. Most of us don’t have MTV funding our bucket list adventures.

Creating a bucket list has been on my bucket list for a long time (see what I did there?) but regrettably, I’ve never gotten around to it. What does one add to a bucket list? I think we all have a mental bucket list, whether we realize it or not. If you see the a picture of the Eiffel Tower and say to yourself, “wow, I would love to visit the Eiffel Tower before I die!” That sort of counts, right? That’s been basically the extent of my bucket list making, but I’ve decided I want to actually write 100 things I want to do before I die. Also, are there rules for bucket lists? Are you allowed to add and immediately cross out something really cool that you’ve already done? I’m sure that around #50, I’ll start getting desperate for ideas and my list will begin to look a bit like this:

#51: Visit England.
#52: Go shopping in England.
#53: Eat shepherd’s pie in England.
#54: Buy an umbrella in England.
#55: Take a picture in England.
#56: Sleep at a hotel in England.
#57: Fly home from England.

While all those items (ok, maybe not #54) are [somewhat] legitimate, I want 100 original ideas. I have quite a few already, but I want you guys to give me some insight.
If any of you have a bucket list, what items do you have on it? Or if you don’t have a bucket list, what would you put on it if you did? Have you done anything that you really enjoyed that I should consider adding to my own bucket list? Leave me some comments and let me know, I’d love to hear what you have to say!

 

Also, this is a really cool website you should check out if you’re interested in making a bucket list for yourself. You can look at what other people have on their lists, and you can also keep track of your own on the site.

Comments
  1. janegundogan says:

    Ride a hot air balloon in Cappadocia

  2. khandoitnow says:

    Pay for someone behind you when you are in a drive through 😀

  3. April Tharp says:

    Have you heard of the Way of St. James (also known as the El Camino de Santiago in Spanish)? I first learned about it from the film The Way (which is a fantastic move, by the way). Basically, you backpack through the Spanish countryside on one of several routes that generally last between one and two months, while stopping each night to stay at either an inn, small hotel, or a local’s house. It looks like an eye-opening and awe-inspiring journey.

    Here are a few others items on my bucket list:
    1. Swim with sharks in the Bahamas.
    2. Learn to ride a horse
    3. Kayak through a cave system
    4. Ride in a helicopter
    5. Go on a dog sled tour in Alaska

    I also have this post on my own blog called “The Bucket List Game” (here) that you might be interested in. I suggested an idea to help people fund their bucket list trips and activities that require money.

    • I haven’t heard of that before, but I will definitely check it out! Part of me wants to overcome my fear of sharks and do #1 on your list, but I am definitely way too afraid of horses to do #2. Thanks for your reply!

      • Mike says:

        1. drive across the U.S. id say hitch hike but hard to do that now
        2. Hike the Appalachian trail
        3. swim with sharks in the Bahamas
        4. Drive a ferrarri
        5. Make love to a beautiful woman
        6. Visit machu pichui
        7. purchase the Europass and travel across Europe
        8. Make a small independent feature film
        9. Play the guitar even better
        10. Travel to Italy…

      • I actually go to Appalachian State University currently, and have done some hiking up there! I’m honestly not sure how close the Appalachian trail comes to App State, but I don’t think it’s too far. The western part of NC is beautiful, definitely something you should experience at least once. The trees are the best in October.

  4. worldofmymae says:

    Your post reminds me to put-up one, and actually i have a list but has been hidden on my site for a long time now. 🙂

  5. #51-#57 Do you really mean England, or do you really mean Britain? England is a part of Britain, but not the whole of the mainland. England shares the mainland with wales and Scotland. 😉

  6. Your bucket list has made me think about my very own, which was very travel orientated. Now I am going to put my thinking cap on and come up with things I would like to do, as well as see!

    • I haven’t had the chance to travel very much, so that is something I look really forward to. I took French in high school and in one of the courses it focused a lot on the culture, as opposed to the language. It really made me want to go and experience life in another country!
      I’m really glad that this post has made you want to do one of your own! If you decide to post it on WordPress, please let me know! I would love to read it! Thanks again for your feedback! 🙂

  7. What a great idea. Love the one “throw a dart on the map and travel where it lands”.. Hope it doesnt land in the middle of pacific..hahaha. Just a joke.. But over all a great prompt..

Leave a Reply

