Last summer, I started a book called The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron. Nikki Sixx, who is the bass player for the rock band Motley Crue recommended this book on his radio show, SixxSense. Nikki Sixx was a contributing writer for a lot of Motley Crue‘s music, he is an avid photographer, has written two books (The Heroin Diaries and This is Gonna Hurt), has a side music project, Sixx:A.M., and hosts his own radio show. He spoke so highly of the book, and what it did for his creative process, so I decided to check it out.

This book isn’t a novel, but I wouldn’t necessarily call it a how-to book either. It takes you through a journey to bettering your creativity. I began this book and really enjoyed it. I started working through the activities and implementing the tips. At first I thought it sounded kind of hokey, but it really works. It’s just something you have to try for yourself – which I don’t think you would regret doing.

51+HkCfGpFL

I’ll just be honest; I didn’t finish the book. I started it, and got really into it, but soon enough, it faded and I moved on to something else. (If you know me personally, you know how often I do this.)

While I was still reading Julia Cameron’s book, I discovered a practice that I really enjoyed doing, that I felt really did help me creatively. I give you, The Morning Pages.

The idea behind The Morning Pages is to write 3 pages every morning of unfiltered, unedited, stream-of-consciousness writing. It can be about anything you want. However, your Morning Pages are never to be re-read after you write them. This exercise helps you to stop unnecessarily criticizing your work. It allows you to write whatever is on your mind. It helps you to transfer what’s in your mind, effectively to paper. I often have difficulties with that; by the time I’ve edited my though, implemented correct syntax, and spiced up the vocabulary a bit, it doesn’t convey the original thought the way I want it to.

I’m not going to post my morning pages to this blog, but I will update you with how they’re going (3 pages of unedited nothingness? I highly doubt you would enjoy reading that). If any of you have read this book, let me know what you think. And if any of you decide that you want to make morning pages a part of your daily routine, tell me how it’s going for you!

Comments
  1. Back in 2007, I joined a group of young women and together we started the 9-week Artist’s Way program. Each week, we met and discussed a chapter we read, how the program was going for us. It was life changing for me! The program never left my mind even after 7 years, and probably gave me the courage to start my blog. I would recommend finishing the book and seeing where it takes you!

    • That is really awesome! I would love to have some sort of group to talk about it with, which I guess is why I am posting it on this blog! I definitely would like to finish the program! I have heard so many people speak so highly of it! I really appreciate your comment, thank you!

  2. gjoelfranco says:

    I have not heard about this in a long time! Wow! I never actually read it or done it, but I heard so many people back in the early 2000s that loved those things and swore by them…It’s great to have a real group of support, people that can be honest and push one another…love the idea and I wish there were more groups like that.

Leave a Reply

